Placeholder image

NACMPA is the North American Chinese Medical Physicists Association. NACMPA is a scientific, educational, and professional organization devoted to the field of physics in medicine and biology. The information provided in this website is offered for the benefit of its members and the general public.

2018 Meeting Summary

2018 Newsletter

NACMPA2018 Meeting Flyer

CSTRO-Phys/NACMPA Meeting Announcement 2018

Newsletter Fall 2017 V2 No2

NACMPA2017 Payment Receipt

NACMPA2017 Meeting Flyer

Newsletter Spring 2017 V2 No1

Symposium, 2017

You are cordially invited to participate in the North American Chinese Medical Physicists Association (NACMPA) Symposium to be held in conjunction with the 2017 Chinese Annual Meeting of Radiation Oncology Physics in Chongqing, China, on October 26-28, 2017. This meeting is organized by the Physics Group of Chinese Society of Radiation Oncology (CSTRO-PG) and sponsored by NACMPA. This meeting is intended to facilitate scientific exchange and to provide a platform for radiation oncology physicists worldwide to foster communications, collaborations and friendship. For meeting registration and hotel reservation, please follow:

The NACMPA Symposium, with theme on Advanced Radiation Therapy Technologies, will include both invited and proffered presentations. Participants are encouraged to submit their abstracts following the instruction in the meeting website, AND, email copies of the abstracts to:, indicating that the abstracts are submitted for NACMPA Symposium. All abstracts will be reviewed by the NACMPA Symposium Scientific Committee. All accepted abstracts will be included in the meeting proceeding. The abstracts with the highest scores will be included as oral presentations in the Symposium program. Abstracts and presentations either in Chinese or English are acceptable for the Symposium.

We look forward to seeing you in Chongqing!

NACMPA Symposium Organization and Scientific Committees:

Chair:          Allen Li
Members:   Maria Chan, Steve Jiang, Charlie Ma, Jackie Wu, Lei Xing, Josh Xu, George Xu, Fang-Fang Yin, Cedric Yu
Secretaries: Jing Cai, Ming Chao


Dates to Remember

September 10, 2017:              Online Meeting Registration deadline
September 20, 2017:              Abstract submission deadline
September 30, 2017:              Hotel reservation deadline
October 26, 2017:                   Arrival and on-site registration
October 27-28, 2017:             Meeting/Symposium programs

Call for Members, Feb 10, 2017

NACMPA aims to promote the scientific, educational, and professional development of Chinese medical physicists in the field of physics in medicine and biology. In line with this goal, NACMPA Board of Directors has recently initiated a move to enhance the engagement of our members, especially young members, to the NACMPA society, and to create opportunities to boost their professional development. NACMPA is now soliciting nominations (including self-nomination) for the following positions:

Members who are interested in these positions are encouraged to send your CV to Jing Cai ( Please indicate the position in which you are interested.

Newsletter Fall 2016 V1 No1

President’s Corner

NACMPA co‐organized the 15th Asia‐Oceania Congress of Medical Physics (AOCMP) annual meeting (jointly held by Chinese Society of Medical Physics (CSMP)) in the historical city of Xi’an, China, November 6‐8, 2015, as well as the 1st Hefei International Forum for Radiological Medical Physics, in Hefei, China, June 13‐14, 2015.

Many prominent NACMPA members have served as scientific committee members, keynote speakers and invited speakers, for the aforemen‐mentioned conferences and several other medical physics meetings held in China, they include Drs. Jun Deng, Lei Dong, Jianyue Jin, Zuofeng Li, Allen Li, Xiaoming Lu, Charlie Ma, Jie Shi, Brian Wang, Raymond Wu, Ying Xiao, Ping Xia, Lei Xing, Jack Yang, Fang‐ Fang Yin, and Ning J. Yue. Their lectures cover a broad scope of medical physics research and prac􀆟ce, such as big data in RT, proton therapy, image registratron, quality assurance, stereotactic body radiotherapy, etc.

Besides the on‐going meetings, we also have broadened our scopes to participate in many trainings and seminars in China and Asia-Pacific regions, with our members’ efforts to devote their knowledge, time and expertise to help improve the medical physics profession with our international colleagues. We hope to continue this great tradi􀆟on in coming years and to make the NACMPA a great society. Welcome to our annual meeting!

Jackie Wu, Ph.D, FAAPM

NACMPA President


Thumbnail Image 1

Chair of Board’s Report

Under the leadership of NACMPA president Jackie Wu,our annual NACMPA meeting was successfully held in Washington, DC on August 3, 2016. The NACMPA was formally founded in the United States in 1995 followed by the social dinner gathering of all Chinese physicists at the 1994 annual meeting of AAPM at Anaheim, CA. I attended the memorable first gathering in Anaheim when I was a PhD student. I was sitting right next to Dr. Sou‐ Tung Chiu‐Tsao, who taught in the AAPM Summer School of Brachytherapy and initiated the Chinese gathering on Wednesday evening. I still remember the friendly and energetic atmosphere in the dinner meeting.

After 21 years of continuous growth, NACMPA became a truly international organization with more than 500 members, including 40 from outside the North America. With the increasing international recognition, NACMPA hosted the first international conference for Chinese physicists around the world in Lijing, China, 2011. Also, the organization launched the first officially endorsed scientific journal, International Journal of Medical Physics, Clinical Engineering and Radiation Oncology (IJMPCERO) in the Spring of 2012. There were about 200 physicists, vendors, and their families attended this year’s annual meeting in a local Chinese restaurant. During the meeting, Dr. Cedric Yu received the Hall of Fame award for his long time contributions. At the meeting, Dr. Zhigang (Josh) Xu from Stony Brook University Hospital of New York and Dr. Ming Chao from The Mount Sinai Medical Center of New York were elected as the next President‐elect and Treasurer, respectively.

The NACMPA Hall of Fame award is an annual award to acknowledge the individual who made an outstanding contribution to the field of medical physics through research or clinical work, or the individual who was outstanding in service in NACMPA. The former Hall of Fame recipients include Drs. Clifton Ling, Andrew Wu, Raymond Wu, and Charlie Ma.

For the past several years, the NACMPA has issued awards to manuscripts published in JMPCERO journal deemed by both the Board of Editors and NACMPA officers to be worthy of the designation “Best Papers.” This year’s NACMPA Award for Excellence for the best paper published during 2015‐ 2016 in IJMPCERO was “Biological dose estimation model for proton beam therapy”, Vol. 4(2):149‐ 161,2015. The authors are Drs. Vladimir Anferov and Indra J. Das. Along with award certificates given to the authors at the annual meeting was a check of $500 paid by NACMPA to the first author. The journal is indexed in several world class databases and its papers are cited in many pres􀆟ge journals. Since the IJMPCERO is not yet indexed in the PubMed, the accepted manuscript could be deposited in the PubMed Central (PMC) for NIH access .

Maria F. Chan, Ph.D. FAAPM


Thumbnail Image 1

2016, 22nd NACMPA Annual Meeting

Thumbnail Image 1

Best Paper in 2016

Drs. Vladimir Anferov and Indra J. Das
“Biological dose estimation model for proton beam therapy”, IJMPCERO Vol. 4(2):149,2015

Thumbnail Image 1

Hall of Fame 2016

Cedric Yu, Ph.D.
Hall of Fame Recipient

Thumbnail Image 1

Best Service Award 2015

Hualin Zhang, PhD
NACMPA Secretry

2016 Sponsors


2016 Annual Dinner at 1100 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209